Monday, June 30, 2008

June 29, 2008
Germany 0 – 1 Spain Ernst Happel Stadion, Vienna Attendance: 51,428 Referee: Roberto Rosetti
Kevin Kurányi Michael Ballack 33′ Fernando Torres Fernando Torres Iker Casillas

Spain has won its first UEFA European Football Championship since 1964 by defeating Germany in the final match.

Fernando Torres scored the lone goal of the match in the 33rd minute. The match started at 19:45 UTC, and although the score was only 1-0, BBC Sport has reported that Spain dominated the match.

Germany got close to scoring at some points in the game, one shot by German captain Michael Ballack missed the goal by a narrow margin.